Dear God in Heaven, No.

I like Martha Stewart. I liked her when it was fashionable to do so, and I liked her even more when she got caught with her hand in the cookie jar and had to go to jail. I even kind of liked the poncho she wore when she got out.

I was just on her site, SewingIdeas.com, and I checked out the video in the right column, the one with Arnold Scaasi. Now, not only do I like Martha, I have a very soft spot in my heart for Scaasi. In the 80s, I owned a bright red Silk Duchesse Scaasi gown (bought, not made) with his famous crumb-catcher bodice. I wore it as a recital gown, and I looked hot in it! Very 80s and back then I had the big, platinum blonde hair to go with it, if you can imagine.

Anyway, as I was saying, I watched that video, and it was about embroidering using a Husqvarna machine. They embroidered a tee shirt with Scaasi’s logo. Then, and here’s where the title comes in, Scaasi pronounced, “Everyone should embroider tee shirts.” Oh no, Arnold. Everyone should most definitely not embroider tee shirts! See, to me, embroidery isn’t sewing, it’s embellishment. It has its place, but in the wrong hands, it can take a garment from good to Becky Home Ecky. Some people do beautiful embroidery, but a world full of embroidered tees is not one I want to live in.

Sorry Martha, Arnold, love you both (though what is up with Scaasi’s hair, anyway?) but I aint buyin’ it! On Monday, the guest on Martha’s show is Tim Gunn whom I love despite his show. And the show is all about sewing. Oh, and check it out! My darling Emmett provided wardrobe! I’ll have to Tivo that one.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Commentary, Emmett McCarthy, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.