Pssst! Hey Buddy, Wanna Make A Couture Dress?


Can’t you just see some thug saying that in a dark alley? Very noir, very 1950s Bogie and Bacall movie. But it’s true! I was perusing some museum websites today, and the Victoria and Albert Museum is running an exhibit on the Golden Age of Couture. I’ve already pre-ordered The Book from Amazon. I think you can buy it straightaway from the museum, but since the dollar is so low (great article in today’s WSJ about that and how it might affect the trade deficit, BTW), I’ll wait and get it when Amazon gets their bulk discount.

Anyway, as part of the exhibition, you can download the pattern for that gowachuss dress above! I already did, and I’m going to start studying it. Oh Summerset! This one has your name written all over it!

And for you shoe aficionados in the crowd, there is a Design a Shoe competition which will be judged by that master of foot fabulosity, Jimmy Choo! (The real one, not that evil wench who took over the company)

I tell you, life doesn’t get much better than this. If it weren’t so expensive, I’d be tempted to hop on a plane and get myself to the V&A!

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Books, Couture. Bookmark the permalink.