Pattern Review – Vogue 8305 Dress


Pattern Description: From the Vogue Website – “MISSES’ JACKET, TOP, DRESS AND PANTS: Loose-fitting, unlined jacket has shaped front hems and long sleeves which may be worn open, or lower edges of front can be tied at waist or draped over shoulder. Purchased pin or belt. Fitted top or below mid-knee dress has raised back neckline, back zipper and long sleeves. Tapered pants have self-lined yoke, back zipper and side slits at ankles.” I made View C, the dress

Pattern Sizing:6-22

Did it turn out like you expected? Yes. I made the Top version from this pattern last November for a singing gig. I’ve wanted to make the dress ever since.

How were the instructions? Very good. This is a well done pattern.

Likes/dislikes? Love the ruching. Can you say “hide a multitude of sins”? I also really like the almost cheongsam-like style. What I don’t like is the standard home patterns method of facing the neckline. I never see that in RTW, and I didn’t do it here (more about that later).

Fabric Used: Leaf Print Jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics. I fell in love with this fabric the minute I saw it. And it’s great to work with.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: As I say, I left off the facings. Instead, I simply turned the seam allowances and stitched them down:

I like the way it looks, and you don’t run the risk of having the facing flop out. If you do this, there is one change to the order of construction that you need to make. First, sew the back and front together at the shoulders. Then turn the neckline seam allowances and sew, as you see in the picture. Then you can continue on with the construction as indicated in the instructions. This actually makes the dress much easier to make, and I would recommend this for a beginner.

The other change I made was to eliminate the CB zipper. Since this knit is so stretchy, I didn’t need it.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Since this is my second go-round with this pattern, I’d say that’s a big yes. And I definitely recommend it.

Conclusion A real winner! Here’s the finished dress on my form:

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Patterns, Reviews, Vogue. Bookmark the permalink.