On the Cutting Table: McCall’s 5478

Oh Kittens! I am so excited to be working on this one! I’ve been trying desperately hard to reduce stash, and this jacket is going to be a centerpiece of my fall/holiday dressy wardrobe. I’m making the muslin now, and I think I am going to pull out the couture stops on this one. I’m making it from a stupendous silk taffeta brocade I bought from my darling Kashi several years ago. I will underline it with organza and line it with silk charmeuse. I’m getting tired of the same-ol, KWIM? Time for a challenge, and this should present a good one!

What you may not be able to tell from the pattern envelope (I didn’t notice it until I got home and opened up the pattern) is that it has multi-cup sizes for A/B/C/D cups. Alright! The McCalls Pattern company has finally started to notice that people are shaped differently! Sound the trumpet and bang the drum! Simplicity’s been doing multi-cup sizes for several years, and the independents even longer. Yipee!

Anyway, I’m going to do the big fit on this, and I’ll show off what’s happening as I go along. Stay tuned…

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.