Let’s All Sing Like the Birdies Sing


DH starts his new job tomorrow, and he was off all last week between jobs. I spent Monday in New York City visiting Emmett McCarthy at his design studio. It was great to see everyone – Ariel, Erin and Dimitry were all there with Emmett. They were working on the new fall line, and I can tell you, it is going to be GORGEOUS! Here’s a funny little anecdote. Emmett asked me if I wanted to try on a wool jacket that I was positively drooling over. Of course, I said yes before he could even finish the question. So I tried it on, and immediately everyone went into fit-model mode (I get another credential to add to the CV). After a few minutes of tweaking and pinning, Emmett stepped back and took a look at the jacket. Then he looked at me and said, “Wow, Ann, you’re really busty… really busty!” To which my reaction was, “Honey, why do you think my husband married me?” We all cracked up, then we went to the diner downstairs for lunch and milkshakes. I love visiting Emmett. It’s like visiting my slightly crazy (in a good way!), very creative Irish (American) cousin.

After visiting with Emmett, I went to the Poiret Exhibit at the Met. I did a writeup on it for BeSewStylish. Wow, I say, wow! Go see it if you can – it was so inspiring!!!

Tuesday we spent the day at the Mystic Aquarium in Mystic, CT. What a fun aquarium, and we picked the perfect day to go! DH has all the pictures on his account. I’ll post a couple later. But they also had a “Birds from Down Under” exhibit where they had about a bazillion parakeets, and one of them and I decided to do a little duet.

The rest of the week was spent doing July 4th activities, making a skirt from fabric my BFF brought back from Ireland, and then swapping couches with my sister. She’s moving to a much smaller house than the one in which she lives now. My couch, which is the best napping couch in the history of the world, will fit there, and her couch, which is a pretty decent napper itself, looks beautiful in my living room, so everyone is happy.

Tomorrow it’s back to the real world. DH begins his new job (at a very cool company that does shopping cart technology), and I’ll be posting a ton of new fabrics for fall. It’s been a lovely week, but as they say, break’s over!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Emmett McCarthy, Fabrics, Fashion, Miscellaneous, New York. Bookmark the permalink.