Pattern Review – HotPatterns Triple-T Dress


I made another dress for my niece. I had asked her to pick out some fabric that she liked and I would make her a dress from it. She did, and I did! I decided to make her the short-sleeved, A-line version of HotPatterns’ Triple-T dress, since she’s in the Bend, OR area, and I wanted something comfortable for the high desert.

Pattern Description: from the website, Three times the fun with these fashion-forward but soooo easy T-shirt dresses. Use a drapey t-shirt knit or try a silky jersey for ultra-easy sewing and wearing. You can mix any of these pretty bodices with any of these funky skirt styles for maximum fashion mileage! Strapless dress has a deep elasticated casing at the top edge & a semi-circular skirt. Classic scoop-necked dress has short sleeves & a gentle A-line skirt with fluted hem detail. Low scoop-necked dress has long full sleeves with elasticated wrists, a slim skirt, and back ties. Wear these great dresses over leggings or straight jeans, or try them with your grooviest shoes, and accessorize with statement bangles and shades for a sharp everyday look.

Sizing: All sizes from 6-24 are included. I made a size 8 based on my niece’s measurements

How were the instructions? They were fine. I didn’t really look at them too much since the pattern is quite straightforward to construct.

Likes/dislikes? This is a really cute look for my niece. I like the blouson top and the youthful styling. There is a slight (very slight) mistake in the notching on the skirts, and it only appears to be on the size 8 A-line. The notch on the back side seam is offset from the notch on the front side seam by about a half inch. Other than that there are no errors. And it doesn’t affect the rest of the construction. The pattern pieces fit together beautifully otherwise.

Fabric Used: Hot pink and white striped cotton jersey. She really liked it and picked it out.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: No major alterations but a couple of small changes. The knit is a horizontal stripe. I changed the layout on the skirt so the stripes run vertically. Even at age 14, who wants to emphasize the hips, right? I also took inspiration from Erica and finished the hems with a tight serged edge. Now, do you think I can find where she posted it? Nooooooo, but I know I saw it, and I know she was the one who posted it.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I probably won’t sew it again. It’s not my style, and I doubt that she will need more than one. But I liked the way it went together, and I do recommend it.

Conclusion Another fun dress for my niece! Here’s a picture of the finished product:

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in HotPatterns, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.