Pattern Review – McCall’s 5429 Skirt


I had a bunch of Dark Wash Italian Denim hanging out in my stash, and I am going to do some serious stash clearance over the next couple of weeks. Honestly, I think it’s going to become a Fabric Golem if I don’t! So this is the first parry in the duel between me and my stash….

Pattern Description: from the envelope back “MISSES’ SKIRTS IN THREE LENGTHS: Semi-fitted and below waist, straight or flared skirt has waistband, front pockets, topstitched hems and mock fly front with hook and eye closure; skirt A has micro mini and frayed hem; skirt B is below mid-knee with godets; skirt C is ankle length.” I made View B.

Sizing: 4-20

Did it look like the it was supposed to? Oh yes, though I think mine looks better!

How were the instructions? The instructions were very good, with one exception. There is a misprint in the illustrations for the side-front. They tell you to stitch through the large dot to reinforce, then clip the seam allowance to the large dot. There are two large dots on the side front: one up at the pocket, and the other at the placement spot for the godet. The illustration shows the pocket, but they actually mean the godet placement. Keep that in mind and you’ll be fine.

Likes/Dislikes? No dislikes other than that nit about the instruction. Likes? Love the juxtaposition of the jean styling with the 8-gored, godet skirt. It’s so fun and pretty! I also love the topstitching:

I used a size 14 topstitching needle with jeans topstitching thread. In the bobbin I used plain Metrosene navy blue thread.

Fabric Used: Italian stretch denim from my stash. Yay!

Any Changes to the Pattern? Absolutely none. I will note that this pattern seems to run a tad large. I made a 14, and it’s a smidge loose on me. I think the 12 would be too small, but you might want to do a flat pattern check before you sew.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes to both.

Conclusion A great pattern! This will be a year-round wardrobe staple. I’ll wear it tomorrow with a tank top and espadrilles, and I can see it with boots and a sweater in the winter. It’s a great look!

One thing to note is that, when working with really dark wash denims, even if you have pre-washed a couple of times, you’ll get a fair amount of dye on your hands during construction. I neglected to take a picture, but I can honestly say that my hands looked cyanotic! I used a salt scrub to take off the color, but I still have blue fingernails!

Here are two views of the finished skirt: one with the godets out and the other with the godets in

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.