The Proust Questionnaire

I am going to thank/blame Sewing Diva Phyllis for turning me on to this questionnaire. I had heard about it at some point, but promptly forgot it. I haven’t found an internet tag for it, and I’m too lazy to make one, but here are my answers to the Proustian Questionnaire:

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
A life full of my husband, kids, friends, sewing and singing.

What is your greatest fear?
It already happened and I lived through it.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?
Augustus Caesar. His family was almost as screwed up as mine.

Which living person do you most admire?
Corey Aquino. She lived through hell. I met her at my best man’s graduation dinner. I sat across from her and her husband, Benigno. He was murdered 2 weeks later in the Phillipines. She survived and went on to become the president of the Philippines.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Hubris.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Hypocrisy

What is your greatest extravagance?
Either my music or my sewing. Probably my sewing – stash and machines. But unlike my music, it’s tax deductible.

What is your favorite journey?
The boat ride out to a favorite dive spot.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Anything that someone uses to make others feel like lesser humans.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?
Nothing. It is what it is.

Which living person do you most despise?
No one. It takes too much energy to despise someone. I’d rather use that energy for better things.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Basically? Basically.

What is your greatest regret?
Listening to my then-premed advisor and changing majors after getting a B- in organic chem. I should have retaken it over the summer at the local community college.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My husband

Which talent would you most like to have?
Accounting

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
No, they made me who I am, so I wouldn’t change them

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
The obvious answer is my kids. The less obvious is the fact that I seem to be able to be, as a friend told me yesterday, “dipped in **** and come up smelling like a rose”.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?
A dog in my own household

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Being utterly and completely alone

What is your most marked characteristic?
According to my husband? My boobs. According to me? My exuberance.

What do you most value in your friends?
Frankness, loyalty, humor.

Who are your favorite writers?
Dickens, John Krakauer, Goscinny and Uderzo

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?
Nicholas Nickelby

What are your favorite names?
Edward, Steven, Kate

What is it that you most dislike?
Disingenuousness

How would you like to die?
Instantly, while SCUBA diving in the Maldives

What is your motto?
“Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death! Live!!!!!” – Auntie Mame

So how about you?

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.