Well, the City Never Sleeps, and Neither do I

When I’m there, that is. Oh my, what a whirlwind tour it was to New York yesterday and today! We drove down in the morning. The weather in Boston started out dreary, but the clouds were lifting, and they kept coming in and going out as we approached New York. Here’s a hint for those doing the I84 trip. Reins Deli in Vernon, CT. The BEST chocolate egg creams outside of the Big Apple. One of those and I’m ready to go all day. Of course, I’m sure they have about 3000 calories each, so I don’t stop every time I go.

Yesterday the weather was pretty misty, I had to go to meetings all afternoon while DH and the kids went to the Statue of Liberty (pictures later). But when I walked out onto Broadway at 5:30, the sun was shining gloriously, and it was as though someone had taken a big dustcloth and just swept everything clean.

Today was even better, and we spent much of the day at the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA, for short). MOMA and the Louvre are probably my two favorite art museums in the world. I hear the Hermitage is as good if not better, but I haven’t made it to Russia yet, so I’ll just have to save my pennies and hopefully get there some day. In the meantime, if you get the chance to go to MOMA when you’re in New York, go! Honestly, you turn every corner and there is a painting or sculpture that you studied in school. Van Gogh’s “Starry Night”? Check. Jasper Johns’ “American Flag”? Check. Andy Warhol’s “Campbell Soup Cans” or “Marilyn Monroe”? Check, check. Toulouse Lautrec, Salvador Dali and Paul Klee? Check check and check! It’s so much fun. And having the kids there saying “Mom, I did Starry Night in art class!” or admiring the work of someone none of us had heard of before was just great! And since it was such a nice day, of course we spent some time wandering through the sculpture garden.

We all had a great time, and of course, I found Gorgeous Fabrics while I was down there, with more to follow. But right now, I’m exhausted after a 5 hour drive (“The Merritt Parkway, friend, or foe? Story at 11”).

So, good night, and happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Miscellaneous, New York. Bookmark the permalink.