Bubble, Bubble, Toil and Trouble

This post could also be titled “Oil and Water”, and it refers to silk charmeuse and fusible tricot interfacing. I’m making the Cosmopolitan dress from an absolutely gorgeous Pucci-type silk charmeuse that I bought from Kashi at Metro Textiles. It is so wonderful, and I just love it – the colors, the flow of the fabric, you name it!

While cutting it out today I decided to use my fave rave fusible tricot interfacing. I use this kind of interfacing on just about everything. It really fuses beautifully. But there’s always an exception, right? Check it out:

Gah! I checked all my settings. I had preshrunk the interfacing, and I used a silk organza press cloth and a spritz bottle to moisten it lightly before fusing. This is all standard procedure and works fine on just about every fabric, including many other silk charmeuse fabrics I have sewn with. But not this one! I used my standard silk setting on my gravity feed, and it bubbled like a pan of pudding over high heat. There’s always an exception to every rule, right? And this one shows that not all charmeuses are amenable to this kind of treatment.

So in the spirit of “drop back and punt”, I took a deep breath, dragged out the ol’ silk organza (which, BTW, you can never have too much of in your stash) and cut new cuffs and facings using silk instead. I applied them using long hand basting stitches about 1/4 inch from the cut edges of the fabric. Here are the results:

Much better!

Now I just have to actually make the dress. Back to the sewing room!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Techniques, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.