SABLE is Not Just a Furry Little Critter

SABLE. I think I first heard the term from Georgene, but I could be wrong. It stands for Stash Accumulation Beyond Life Expectancy. I definitely have reached SABLE critical mass. Heck, I reached it about 7 years ago. A lot of folks are trying to take part in “fabric moratoriums” (moritoria?). That’s wonderful for those who can do it. But for me, where’s the joy? Okay, I’m not just saying this because I own an on-line fabric store. Face it, part of the reason I own said online fabric store is because it allows me to stash more! I’m lucky, I have a husband who encourages me. When we added on to the house he actually suggested we build a sewing room! There’s a reason we’ve been married 22 years and counting (knock wood!).

Yes, stashing is a good thing! It’s not just about the accumulation of fabrics. It’s also about the joy of being able to fish through your fabric on a bitterly cold winter day and come up with the perfect match for that pattern you’ve been thinking about. Or it’s great for when you find out that someone you love is sad and needs a little pick-me-up, and you have a lovely fabric that will make a beautiful wrap for her! Or when you find out your niece has no nice dresses for Easter, and you just happen to have a gorgeous fabric in your stash that just doesn’t quite work for you, but makes her the most lovely little outfit. That’s where the joy is folks! That’s why we stash!

One of my all time favorite movies is “Auntie Mame”. In one scene, Mame grabs her assistant, Agnes Gooch, by the hand and says to her, “Oh Agnes, haven’t you been listening to anything I’ve been saying? Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! Live!!!!” Stashing is one way that I “Live!!!!”. Yes, SABLE is a wonderful thing in my book. My sons may not think so when I die, but then, maybe they’ll have children who grab my fabric and say, “Ooooh, this is pretty!” And thus, trans-generational SABLE is born.

Happy stashing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics. Bookmark the permalink.