Cosmopolitan Dress v.2

I’m not normally a multiple version of the same pattern kind of girl, but I really, really love the HotPatterns Cosmopolitan Dress. I’ve made it in a basketweave knit, and it’s so comfortable that I decided to make it again in this really cool Chainlink jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Someone had asked if I would do a tutorial on how I did the elasticized neckline. It doesn’t really warrant a tutorial, because it’s so easy. Let me show you how I did it.

First off, using your pattern piece as a template, cut a piece of narrow (1/8 inch) elastic the length of your front neckline, less 3-4 inches. In this case I used narrow braided elastic. You can get good results with clear elastic, too.

Sew this elastic to the fabric using a zigzag stitch, stretching the elastic to the length of the neckline as you sew. Keep the elastic within the seam allowance (1/2 inch from the raw edge, in this case).

That’s pretty much all I did. If you apply a facing just stretch out the neckline to match the length of the facing as you sew. This will ‘snug up’ the neckline so it doesn’t gap from you. I didn’t use a facing in either dress. I bound the edges of the neckline in the basketweave, and in this fabric, I simply did a narrow hem. I was pleased with the results in both cases.

Here’s the finished version of the dress in the chain link. I really love this version. I think the chain link fabric makes it a really fun, eye catching look. I have a great pair of brown peep-toe pumps that will look fabulious with it. I think I’ll wear it tomorrow!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, HotPatterns. Bookmark the permalink.