Yet Another Singing Gig!

Well, I’m exhausted! I have just gotten back from a singing gig. I was one of 7 performers. Three were doing a Rachmanninoff suite for 6 hands at the piano. Talk about close quarters on the keyboard! It was a lot of fun. The pieces that I performed were:

Chi’il Bel Sogno di Doretta from Puccini’s opera “La Rondine”
Notre Amour, of Gabriel Fauré
Art is Calling for Me, of Victor Herbert

Alas, I didn’t get a recording, but I think it went pretty well. Ryan, my accompanist, thought the Puccini was great. It’s so funny, when I am rehearsing, I worry so much about my intonation, especially worrying about whether I am going at all sharp in my passagio, but once I’m up on the stage? Screw it. Do like Charlie Parker said and just wail. Okay, maybe not wail (I have to do that run up to the end in Notre Amour in triple-p, after all). But you get up there and just communicate. And that, my friends, is why I love to sing.

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Singing. Bookmark the permalink.