Do You Have OCSD?

I’m a clothes horse. Happily, I’m the first to admit that I have a problem. Even more happily, my husband doesn’t mind. In fact, he encourages me. Even more happily still, I can forego the dubious pleasures of the mall in my constant search for the Next Great Outfit, because I sew. I am able to whip up an outfit in less than a day, if I want to. And it will rival anything you could find in Neiman’s or Bergdorf’s. That’s not a boast. It’s fact, and it’s something I’ve worked long and hard to achieve.

But this ability comes with a slight problem. Well, maybe not so slight. I have developed a roaring case of OCSD, Obsessive-Compulsive Sewing Disorder. As I’m finishing up my latest project, my mind is off to the races, designing the next one. My closet is stuffed to the gills with the results of my work. The local branch of the Saint Vincent de Paul society knows me by name from bringing in last year’s styles (good-bye, handkerchief hems!). Do you have OCSD? Here are a few questions to gauge yourself.

1 – Do you have a basket/file drawer/spare closet full of patterns, ‘for when the right fabric comes along’?

2 – When you see a fabric you like, do you immediately purchase the typical amount you would need to make a specific type of garment (e.g. pants, dress, top), rather than wait until you have the pattern in hand?

3 – Could you clothe your family, friends, and neighbors for at least one month just using the fabrics and notions you have in stash?

4 – Have you ever made a garment, then never worn it?

5 – Have you ever had a spouse/significant other complain that your finished sewing projects encroach on their closet or shelf space?

6 – Do you have at least two leather skins hanging in your closet for when you need to make a purse to match an outfit?

7 – Can you make an entire wardrobe, including all thread, notions, interfacings, etc. without ever needing to go to the store for any supplies?

8 – Do you ever get jittery because you haven’t sat at your sewing machine within the last 24 hours?

9 – Do you ever whip up something for a family member while waiting for inspiration for your next project for you?

10 – Do you think at least three sewing projects ahead? Or worse, are you planning your wardrobe for next season before this season starts?

If you can answer yes to at least 4 of these questions, welcome to the club! You are officially an Obsessive-Compulsive Sewer. Hey, it’s better than a gambling or drug addiction, and the fruits of your labors will bring pleasure to you and others for years, right? That’s my story, and I’m sticking with it.

Hmmmm, it’s Mardi Gras. Lent starts tomorrow. I wonder if I could give up sewing for Lent?
Nah… I’d rather give up drinking!

Now, back to the sewing room!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.