Tango 2 Has Landed

I like snow days. The storm did get going eventually, but it so far has only dumped about 6 or 7 inches of snow, not the 18 they were originally forecasting. But I took advantage of the downtime to help the kids with projects that are due later this week, walk the dog, bake some baguettes and…

Finish the second incarnation of the Tango Blouse.

Red is an incredibly difficult color to photograph. It’s probably only surpassed in that way by black. But this blouse went together quite well. It has a completely different feel to it than the eyelet version. It’s much drapier and heavier feeling in the heavy silk crepe.

I can’t get out of the house for buttons, so I ended up cannibalizing another blouse for these:

And the silk organza frill is actually quite fun, I think! To make it I redrafted the pattern piece for the frill so that it was the same length as the original, but twice as wide. So instead of a 21 inch X 5 1/4 inch rectangular piece, it was 21 X 10.5. I cut it on the bias, and made baby French seams at the underarm.

I also made sure not to press the organza frill flat. I kind of like the bubble effect. It will look totally fab with a black pencil skirt that I have, and red and black killer heels that are so high I can only wear them about once a year. All in all, it will be a nice outfit for DH’s birthday dinner in March. Okay! So that’s done, now on to the Cosmopolitan dress.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in HotPatterns. Bookmark the permalink.