What Do You Love Most About Sewing?

I saw a thread on Threads Gatherings forum with this title. I thought it was a great question, because I ask it of myself every time I sit at the sewing machine or cut something out.

There isn’t much that I don’t like about sewing. It’s fun; it’s creative; it sometimes approaches artistry, especially when you see couture quality garments. I love the planning that is involved in making a difficult piece. I love the transformation from the flat pattern and fabric to a three-dimensional garment that drapes over the curves of a human body. I love the processes that take place, and all the little details like finishing and embellishment. I like the fact that, in my own sewing, I can make things that accentuate things I like, like my legs, and de-emphasize others – “Irish peasant arms”, as they were described last week.

I like the unique results that I get from putting a commercial (or not!) pattern together with fabric of my choosing. I won’t ever see anyone at a mall or restaurant with the same outfit. And I never have to worry about a White-House-Dinner-Oscar-de-la-Renta debacle when I sew.

Those are just some of the things I love about sewing. Your turn. What do you love the most?

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.