McCalls Late Winter/Early Spring 2007

I’m taking a short break from caring from DS who has the flu, and I see that McCall’s has put their late winter/early spring patterns on the site. Mostly ‘meh’, if you ask me. but there were a couple that caught my eye, not always in a good way, if you get my drift.

5214 is a Sew News pattern for a wrap style dress. I like the princess lines, and the full skirt is pretty. They suggest it in eyelets and cottons. I’d also try it in something more dressy, like a taffeta for springtime special occasions.

5330:

is a three skirt wardrobe. The button-down skirt would be perfect for the scalloped front closure treatment that Threads Magazine wrote about in the July, 2006 issue. The skirt with the lace galloon is interesting too, but skip the gingham fabrication they show. I saw a very expensive designer version done up in a stretch wool tweed with the black lace at the hem. $1200 expensive, and with this pattern you can get that look for a fraction.

These aren’t new, but I just took notice of the fact that McCalls now has a line of patterns that cost $2.99. I’m sure that’s to compete against New Look and the $1.99 specials at the national fabric store chains. But there are some good basics in this collection. But be warned, there is a lot of chaff (please, someone tell the pattern companies to get over the poncho already!). A couple that caught my eye for their positive aspects include:

and

5297 is a knit top and shrug pattern. Shrugs seem to have staying power for the spring, and I like them because they are good for Bostonian winters. 5374 is a cute, basic dress that you can dress up or down, depending on the fabrication. It looks very much like some of the patterns in the Vogue pattern line (also owned by McCalls), but for a fraction of the price.

Now for the not so good. The vast majority of the collection was a yawner. But there were two that made me smirk a little. This one, 5318:

Does anyone remember “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”, or do you catch it on Nick at Nite? You know her best friend Rhoda? This is a Rhoda dress. Actually, it’s a Rhoda nightgown. Seriously, I think it would make a kind of cute nightie now that I look at it. But it’s not something I’d wear anywhere farther outside than my deck while getting the newspaper.

And this jumper, 5313:

I have got to tell you, I laughed when I saw the “Contemporary, trendsetting designs” moniker next to the picture. Why? Because, my dear readers, that is an almost exact replica of the very first pattern I ever made, when I was twelve! You know what they say: what goes around comes around. And here’s your proof!

Well, I’m off to take care of DS and finish the Laura Bennett Dress.
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.