New Year’s Fashion Double Feature

I love movies. There’s nothing like a good film to make you appreciate things. But since my kids were born, my theater-going experience of movies seems limited to the likes of “Happy Feet”, Disney/Pixar films, and the Harry Potter Franchise. Not that that’s a bad thing. It beats “Thomas the Tank Engine” (the nadir of Alec Baldwin’s career, I’m sure) any day of the week.

But for New Years, I like to sit at home, make popcorn, and pop a movie or several into the DVD. This year I have two movies on the list. Both are fashion movies. Both have wonderfully strong, quirky heroines, and both are just a blast to watch. The first movie may be obvious: The Devil Wears Prada.

I read the book, which I thought was pretty whiny and shallow. The movie is much better. There are two scenes that I particularly love: first is the scene in which Miranda Priestly, played by Meryl Streep, comes into the office each day and throws her coat and purse (never the same from cut to cut) on Andi’s (Ann Hathaway) desk. The second is the scene following Andi through the streets of New York, and each time she passes by a column, subway, kiosk or what-have-you, her clothing changes to something ever more fabulous. But the greatest scene is the one in which Miranda explains to Andi the progression of fashion from Oscar de la Renta’s Cerulean collection to the dowdy blue sweater that Andi wears two years later. It is sparkling snark at its very finest. And Stanley Tucci steals every scene he is in!

The second movie may be a little less obvious, but it is sparkling in its own right: Auntie Mame.
Rosalind Russell is effervescent as Mame, the eccentric aunt who inherits a 10 year old nephew. The fashions are amazing – check out Mame’s backless mourning dress! The cast is great, the dialogue is great fun. What a way to ring in 2007.

Happy New Year!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.