Sparkling Snark

My friend and fellow Sewing Diva, Mary Beth, recently sent an email referring to my blogging as “Sparkling Snark”. Well, that title just tickled me. Usually, when we hear something like that, DH and I turn to each other and say, “Gee, that would be a great name for a band!” But Sewing Diva Phyllis and I both agreed that it was more of a cocktail name than a band name. So we put our heads together and came up with some ideas.

We went back and forth for a couple of days (thinking, not drinking). Dessert drink, or aperatif? I don’t like really sweet drinks, so we nixed the Godiva and other sugary cordials. I do like fruit, and we kept rounding back to the champagne. It is sparkling snark, after all. Grenadine? Ewww, tastes awful with champagne. Peach liqueur? Too sweet. Besides, the Bellini has been around for years. I went downstairs to my liquor shelf to see what I had. Eureka! Passion Fruit liqueur that someone brought over two Christmases ago! It’s exotic, it’s relatively obscure, and it has just a little sweetness! What else? Snark is definitely red. but cranberry juice is hackneyed (Cosmos, anyone?). Pomegranate! Trendy, red, and definitely snarky.

So my friends, just in time for Christmas and New Years, I give you The Original Gorgeous Things Blogtail,

The Sparkling Snark

1 teaspoon Passion Fruit Liqueur
1 ounce Pomegranate Juice
Champagne
Carambola fruit (also called star fruit) for garnish (optional)

Pour the Passion Fruit Liqueur and the Pomegranate juice into a champagne flute. Fill to the top with champagne. Garnish with a slice of carambola. Drink and enjoy!

Notice that my sample is missing the carambola? Turns out my kids really like it. I started slicing, and the slices disappeared. Sigh. Well, you can also garnish by floating a couple of pomegranate seeds on top.

In the words of my two favorite bloggers, Tom and Lorenzo:
MERRY CHRISTMAS, Poodles!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Blogtails, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.