A Dog With a Bone

I’m doing a client job right now, so there isn’t much that I can report about. But sitting at the Juki running long strips of fabric through at 3300 stitches per minute gives me ample opportunity to think. So here’s a situation I have observed lately. Someone, a very distant acquaintance, seems to have a vendetta against a company. This person has stated in private messages that, “We made [this company] and we can destroy them if we want.” I kid you not. So said person has taken every chance to trash talk this company, and it is discomforting to say the least.

Now, said person has a beef with the product, and it’s not entirely unwarranted in their case. But I have used/made/played with the same product, and I haven’t had the same problems. In fact, I’ve gotten great results. The product can be highly personalized, so there is a lot of room for operator error and interpretation.

My problem is that this person jumps in on every internet forum and trashes the vendor. There was a recent quote that said, “Well, I hate to say ‘I told you so’ but, I told you so. I don’t have this particular [item] but I’ve come to the conclusion that this is the situation in most of these [products]. The reason they are so inistent re ‘making a [test]’ is that they are expecting you to pretty much redraft it. Nice concepts. Bad [products]. That’s been my experience. I don’t think that is right.”

At this point, this person is starting to sound like a harpy every time the subject comes up. But they won’t let it go. And they encourage others to trash the vendor. It’s like they are on a one-person crusade, and I just don’t get it. I’ve had bad experiences with products. You know what? I don’t buy them if they don’t work for me. But I don’t get on the internet and trash the vendor. First, I wouldn’t want to do that in this litigious age; second, my mother raised me better than that.

Well, it’s time to get back to the sewing room!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.