My (Other) Babies

Can I show you something? These are two things that make my sewing life a lot easier and my outside life more fun. Last year for my (mumble mumble)-fifth birthday, I took my Threads Magazine earnings and bought myself a Juki industrial straight stitch machine. This baby is one fast little machine! Actually, it’s not little at all. I’m not sure how much it weighs, but it’s more than I do. And when I start up the motor, all the lights in the house dim, and we’re on 200 amp service! But I just love this machine. It runs at 3300 stitches per minute, which means I can make wadders in less than one third the time! It only does one thing – a straight lock stitch. But boy, does it do it beautifully.

BTW, I completely blame this machine on Sewing Diva Gigi. She has a herd of industrials that make me drool. This is my humble beginning. If the joists in my sewing room can support it, I’m going to get myself an industrial serger next!

Up until last year, I drove sedate sedans and station wagons. I refused to succumb to the minivan. That’s simply not in my style lexicon, nor will it ever be in it. Last year, the lease on my VW Passat ended (thank God. I hated that car from the get-go). When my DH asked what I was going to buy to replace it, I debated for a nanosecond and came up with the answer. A Mustang Convertible. I learned to drive in my mom’s ’68 Mustang hardtop. I loved that car, and every time I would see a ‘Stang on the road I would feel a pang of nostalgia. So here’s my other, other baby.

As I said to DH, it’s my mid-life crisis mobile. And as mid-life crises go, this is a lot tamer than, say, an Italian Gigolo! As you can see from the plates, I’m a Patriots fan. I took my real babies (my boys) to training camp this summer, and who should walk right by us? Tom Brady!

Yes, he is as cute as the pictures look. And he was sweet and gracious and signed tons of autographs for all the kids there.

Well, off to work. Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Patriots. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My (Other) Babies

  1. Gigi says:

    Drool, drool, drool. I bought my mid-life crisis mobile (a fire-engine red TransAm) when I turned 33 (I’ve always been a bit of an overachiever, lol) – boy, was that ever fun! These days I’m driving a sedate Lexus sedan. Very age-appropriate, sigh. At least I can go fast on my industrial machines without worrying about a citation!

  2. Bev says:

    “It runs at 3300 stitches per minute, which means I can make wadders in less than one third the time!”Thanks for the morning laugh, Ann! :)Bev

  3. Stacy says:

    I don’t know which I’m drooling more over, Tom Brady or your new machine.

  4. Lori says:

    He’s a hottie!!

  5. Lisa Laree says:

    My first car was a new ’78 white Mustang. Bought by myself (well, with a loan from my grandad, which I repaid). I mourned when it got too old to find replacement parts and we had to give it up (in 1992, with 130K+ miles on it). I had that car before DH and I started dating. And I do drive a minivan now…just no other way to get by with four kids and annual out-of-state trips to see grandparents.But…someday…I hope to have another white Mustang…;)

  6. Erica B. says:

    Love the Convertible! I keep saying that as soon as I get the kiddies out of the house, I’m getting a two-seater (seat for me and my purse).

  7. Summerset says:

    Great car! I completely understand about the mini-van – I just got rid of my station wagon, too. Not for a Mustang, though. Just a Sable sedan, but it’s better than the wagon.I *knew* I should have posted pics of the coat I just fixed up for a friend. Being in New England, no surprise it was a Patriots jacket – really nice two-color suede one with the large embroidery logo on the back. He had me put the old logo patch on one sleeve, and the three Super Bowl patches on the other. Turned out real nice and he was thrilled.

  8. Phyllis says:

    *sigh* Tom Brady – Mr. Bedroom Eyes.

  9. Linda says:

    I love the car! If I did not live where you hear the words “lake affect snow” from October to April, I would get a little cute number in a heartbeat. I drive a big black Honda Pilot SUV, and now so does everybody else! I could not tell you how many times I have tried to get into the wrong car. At least if I had that little number, I would never make that mistake!Can you tell that I am a car nut more than a sewing machine nut? I need to work on my priorities!

  10. Kelly says:

    Goodness gracious, he’s a sight! I just bought a Passat wagon. It better be good to me! 🙂

Comments are closed.