Next Up – A Dress for a Singing Gig

Okay! It’s the fall, that means singing season is getting into full swing. I have two gigs coming up in as many weeks. One is at Tufts University’s Goddard Chapel. It’s just a half-hour recital at the noon hour, but what the heck. It’s a great chance to trot out some things, and it gives me the chance to work with the best accompanist in the Boston Area, Bill Merrill. Bill is also a great friend, and we have done work together in the past. Here’s a page with links to a recital we did together (with our dear friend Monique Argent, who is also a great musician). The week before that, I am going to be the soprano soloist for “Laudate Dominum” from Mozart’s Vesperae Solennes di Confessore – one of the most beautiful pieces in the choral repertoire. I am singing that for The International Catholic Stewardship Conference. It’s taking place in Boston this year and they asked little old me to sing for them. That’s kind of cool! I understand the presiding bishop at this shindig is going to be the number three guy at the Vatican. No pressure, right? Good thing the running joke about me isn’t “Bless me Father for I have sinned. It’s been 37 years since my last confession. Where would you like me to start?” Well, as my dear Daddy used to say, “He likes to hear from strangers.”

So of course, I need a new dress. Preferably one I can wear to both events. I have hit several of the recent pattern sales, and I decided to use this one, Butterick 4849. I’m going to do View C, the one with the closer fitting sleeves. It’s not as instantly dated as the “Duro” lookalikes, and I’ll be able to wear it for several seasons.

I’ll make it with a lovely matte rayon jersey I bought from my Darling Kashi at Metro Textiles in New York. I have three trims that I got from Heritage Trading on Ebay that will work. I’m going to use the middle one. The background matches the color of the jersey perfectly. It looks lighter in the picture, but that’s an artifact from the flash. Oh, by the way, Phyllis, if you’re reading this, I’m going to need some expert help on how to make this work!

Well, I’ll keep you posted. I certainly have enough projects to keep me busy for a month of Sundays.
Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Butterick, Patterns, Singing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Next Up – A Dress for a Singing Gig

  1. Summerset says:

    It will be perfect! I was hoping you were going to use the middle trim – that’s what appealed to me right away.

  2. Gigi says:

    It is going to be gorgeous! Darnit, I wish I’d jumped on that burgundy matte jersey. It’s such a pretty color.

  3. Phyllis says:

    I think those trims will be perfect! Save the loose beads that come off the backing – you can use those too. I’ll call you today.

  4. Nancy says:

    It is so hard to find matte jersey and Kashi is out! He is such a doll thank you for sharing this resource. I loved this pattern when I saw it on your blog and went and bought it today, hence the call to Kashi. Question, for you. I was thinking that it needed to have the front bands continue around the neck, expecially if a contrasting color is used. What do you think? and construction wise, how would you change the order to include a back neck band?

  5. Hmmmm, interesting question Nancy. I’m making a muslin right now from some brown and some black matte jersey I got in the same shipment. I haven’t started building it yet. I don’t think I will apply the band of trim until after I attach the front and back at the shoulders, and before I sew the side seams and sleeves. I’ll keep you posted – I’m just cutting right now.

  6. Mary T says:

    Ann, will the concert be televised by chance? Perhaps on the ETWN? If so, DO let us know! I’d love to see you sing. BTW your dress is beautiful…

Comments are closed.