Fun With Lining

I wrote a review for a skirt here at PatternReview. One of the things I did when constructing the skirt was to substitute a faced waistband with an attached lining for the “standard’ lining provided with the pattern. I decided to do this because I wanted to complement the slotted seams I used in the skirt. So rather than a lining that went all the way to the top of the waist, I created the facing and lined below it. This is really easy to do. In the case of this skirt, I used the top front piece of the garment pattern for the front facing, and I traced the top of the back pattern piece for the back facing, Then I grafted those onto the bottom of the lining pieces, adding seam allowances. There’s an even easier way to do this, which is to slash your lining pattern about 3″ from the top, add seam allowances and go!

But here’s the fun part. Don’t limit yourself to ho-hum lining fabrics. Banish that Bemberg! Hang the Hang Loose! If you are a stasher like I am, I’ll bet you have some fabrics in your collection that you look at and say, “Wow, I must have had a couple of cocktails in me when I bought that.” Not hideous, but not necessarily something you would want to flash to the outside world. Well my darlings, here’s your opportunity to use that fabric and let it bring a secret smile to your face. The world may not know that you are channeling Catwoman or similar, but it adds a luxurious touch (mmmmm, leopard print silk charmeuse slides so well over leggings or tights), and people will wonder at your enigmatic smile. Have fun with it! After all, isn’t that why we do this?

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fun With Lining

  1. Gigi says:

    Oooh, that is so delicious!

  2. Erica B. says:

    I love the lining! I was planning a trench coat and thinking of doing an animal print! Great idea!

  3. Summerset says:

    I am doing this to a suit right I’ve been working on over the past few days, before you posted this! Wait till you see the lining, that I found in the stash!

  4. Abi says:

    Stunningly sensational and then some…….

Comments are closed.