Name That Tune!

I’m going on vacation, and this is one song that always brings a smile to my face. 10 points if you guess the source, the original oevre from whence it came, and the actor who voiced the Paranold Android:

So long and thanks for all the fish
So sad that it should come to this
We tried to warn you all these years.

You may not share our intellect
Which might explain your disrespect
For all the natural wonders that grow (around you)
So long so long and thanks for all the fish

The world’s about to be destroyed
There’s no point getting all annoyed
Lie back and let the world dissolve (around you)

Despite those nets and tuna fleets
We thought most of you were sweet
Especially tiny tots and your pregnant women

So long so long, so long so long, so long so long, so long so long
So long so long, so long so long, so long so long, so long so long
So long so long and thanks for all the fish

If I had just one last wish
I would like a tasty fish
If we could just change one thing
We would all have learnt to sing

Come one and all
Man and mammal
Side by side in life’s great gene pool

(instrumental interlude)

So long so long, so long so long, so long so long, so long so long
So long so long, so long so long, so long so long, so long so long
So long so long and thanks for all the fish

Happy humming!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Name That Tune!

  1. Hey AnnIt’s from Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy… Only read the books once, and forgot who sings it… But remember the laughing so hard I almost peed, and my boyfriend looking at me like I’m crazy because it’s only a book…happy vacation (mine starts today, too! Yeah!)

  2. Kathleen C. says:

    It was Alan Rickman who voiced Marvin the paranoid Android in the movie version of The Hitchhikers’ Guide to the Galaxy. A pretty good film rendition of a very funny book.By the way, I have to send that singer vs. band joke to my future brother-in-law who was a professional jazz instrumentalist for years. Although he may not see it as funny… just all too real.;^)

  3. Summerset says:

    Hitchhiker’s Guide, of course! The dolphins sing this song, becaue they’re the most intelligent beings on the earth and are leaving before it gets blown up for the space highway! Unfortunately, the movie version song gets stuck in my head easily, and now, yes, I will go about the rest of my day singing, “So long and thanks for all the fish”. Glad to see you have a blog, as I like your reviews on patternreview. Looking forward to seeing more of your gorgeous things!

  4. Summerset says:

    Oops, forgot to add, not sure about Marvin, though. I’ve heard the BBC radio version and seen the movie and like his voice in the BBC verion better.

  5. Ten points to you all for being such good sports! And like the dolphins, I shall return after a brief holiday! Happy 4th to those who celebrate it, happy summer to those in the northern climes, and happy winter to my friends in the Tropic of Capricorn and points south!

Comments are closed.