Elastic Hanger Loops

Here’s a tip for those who are making a garment that may need support on the hanger. I like hangar loops, but when I make them from ribbon or twill tape, they often fall off the padded hangers in my closet, making them moot. As an alternative to ribbon/tape, use a length of clear elastic for your hangar loop. The important thing is to cut it about 3 inches shorter than you would normally (I’m assuming you’re making a dress here). This will make the elastic bear more of the weight of the garment. The clear elastic is also slightly sticky, so it won’t slide off your hangers. This is a marvelous solution for keeping the shape of knit or crepe garments.

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Sewing, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elastic Hanger Loops

  1. Lisa Laree says:

    That’s a good idea, Ann. I’ll have to remember that next time I need a little more support…especially on shoulder-baring Victorian costumes… 😉

  2. Mary Beth says:

    Good idea, if you don’t have those wonky plastic hangers with hooks for straps that catch on innocent, unsuspecting cotton tops.

  3. Gigi says:

    That is such a great idea, Ann!

Comments are closed.