Slow but Steady…

Will get the lace trench finished. Here’s where life stands thus far. DH’s job is insane right now. He’s the tech lead for getting the websites up and running for one of the largest H&B companies in the world. The good news is that it will (touch wood) keep him employed for at least the next year and a half. The tough part is that I have to pick up the slack in child care, after-school shuttling and homework helping. Add to that the 60+ hours a week that I spend on Gorgeous Fabrics and it doesn’t leave a lot of time for sewing.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not complaining. I’m incredibly grateful that he has a job he loves. My kids are great – most of the time. And I love what I do. But I get to sew in sips rather than in gulps.

Yesterday’s sip was cutting out the lace for several pieces of the jacket. That took a while, because I wanted to make sure to match the motifs across seamlines. One of the advantages of making a muslin is that you take it apart and use the muslin pieces as your new pattern. I cut with a single layer layout and take time to do as precise placement as possible. I cut the backs, side backs and side fronts. Then I took a break, and today I basted a few pieces to the silk charmeuse underlining. Here you can see the backs:

I’m using a light pink thread to baste inside the seam allowances. I think I’ll tack the lace to the underlining in the body of the pieces too, and for that I’ll use thread to match the lace.

One of the other lovely things about this lace is the edging. It’s finished at the selvages, but some careful cutting reveals a lovely edge:

I’ll try to get more done tomorrow (riiiiiiight). I’m still working out in my head how I’ll place the fronts on the lace. More on that later!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Slow but Steady…

  1. summersetbanks says:

    I totally understand! My husband is high-end IT, too, and it can be very demanding at times, leaving me with all the child/house responsibilities. I did work a full-time job, too, at one time. Talk about nuts. At least you have these little sips to keep a little something beautifully creative in your life.

  2. Mary Beth says:

    I’m so glad you are making this coat. Sew on in sips!

  3. Gigi says:

    Slow and steady wins the race, you know. ;-) When things are crazy for me, I enjoy having a long-term project to whittle away at. It helps keep you sane!

  4. Handmade says:

    That lace is stunning – if I had a hat on I’d take it off for you – and all the others that get their fabulous sewing done in between hectic lifestyles – I only work part time- and that’s too much!!

  5. Sue says:

    It’s going to look stunning!!

  6. Rosie says:

    Sounds as though things are great on the home front – yay! I’m loving the coat already.

  7. Kristine says:

    It might get done in a hundred little steps, but it will get done, and when it is… breathtaking!

  8. vernonfashionstudio says:

    I know the feeling. Sewing in snippets seems to be the only way for me now too. Love the lace!

  9. Karin says:

    Your lace is beautiful. It’s going to be an amazing coat. It’ll be great to see it finished, but I can be understanding if you are a little slow :)

  10. Phyllis says:

    Sewing – what’s that? :) …my life is very much the same right now…..save those little cut off triangles, I think they would look great as a covered button.

  11. Mary says:

    I sympathize with sewing in itty-bitty time slots, esp. something as intricate as your lace project (beautiful BTW). Last night I tried to work on a brocade jacket that I pick up at 7:30 pm after a day that began at 4 am, involves 100 mile RT commute into DC (aka, the death commute–someone is usually trying to kill you on the road), and a 10+ hour workday. Thankfully my child-rearing days are behind me, but I need this jacket for my daughter’s wedding in two weeks…fraying brocade and fatigue is an ugly combination. And did I mention I ran out of thread (with the nearest fabric store a 70 mile RT drive away). Yes, indeed, I sympathize with you on sewing in snippets!

  12. Angela says:

    Sewing in sips is better than no sewing at all… hehe… :) All that detail in the jacket is really going to pay off in the end!

  13. Patsy says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished product – whenever that is ! The center back seems to be a pretty straight line and just wondered if you considered eliminating the back seam. My sewing peeps tell me I analyse things to death !! Just wondered what your thought process was there !! So glad for your pattern choice and happy snip/sewing!

  14. Debbie Cook says:

    Sips v. gulps – great analogy!

  15. Ann..that lace is amazingly lovely……as will be your coat :)

  16. Denise Woodson Ofria says:

    Ann,
    With all that you are doing, you still find the time to blog and keep us up on what is happening with you. For this I thank you. I do not know you (in the old fashioned, person-to-person sense), but everyday I look forward to reading your blog. It’s almost like a visit with an old friend. Thanks again.

Comments are closed.