Dressing for the Now

I had a couple of interesting experiences recently. First is the close call I had with the Lady Gray muslin. I’ve decided to make the McCalls instead, but I was mildly disappointed, not with LG, but with myself. I’m glad that I’m self-aware enough to know when something really doesn’t suit me. But my disappointment stemmed from the fact that LG would look great on me 20 years ago. I was a size 4 (in 80s sizes, not today’s). I was tight, taut and toned. I’m still pretty tight, taut and toned, but gravity and two kids have done their jobs.

The second experience has to do with makeup. The other night I went to the store to buy makeup for fall. I decided, kind of on a lark, to go “au naturel” – no wig. I wanted to see what colors the makeup artist would recommend based on my true colors (as a corollary, it’s going to cost a bloody fortune to get my hair back to its “natural” color).

The colors she recommended surprised me. They were very different from what I wore in the past. And frankly? They look fantastic. (Note to self – put self in the hands of a makeup artist more often.) I don’t know about you, but I have been wearing the same color eyeshadows for about 10 years. I think I looked pretty damned good, but I didn’t evolve very much. Working with the makeup artist was, shall we say, an eye-opening experience.

So the point is to open yourself up for reinterpretation. I’ve had some pretty extreme changes in the last year. Have you? If so, embrace them! Adjust your pattern choices, color choices, makeup choices, whatever – to suit the now. Try new silhouettes (make a muslin first to make sure you like the results). Change the waistline up or down from your norm. Go to the most expensive store in your city or town and try on new stuff to see what you like. Take pictures of yourself from the neck down if you’re trying on something new, and see how you like it on your body without being distracted by your face. You might be completely surprised to find that you don’t like something that you have been wearing for a while. And you might find yourself surprised to love something that you never considered before.

It reminds me of this scene from “Auntie Mame”

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Style, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dressing for the Now

  1. vernonfashionstudio says:

    What a wonderful reminder! Thanks!

    Too many people, including myself, get into a routine and lose their way and themselves as the years role by. I am trying to change that in me. Re-inventing myself is a challenge and scary. But as you found out, it is worth the effort.

    Let’s all live!

  2. Rosie says:

    Ann, I know how you feel. Lucky for me, I didn’t have to make the muslin of the Lady Gray coat. I decided I would make the coat but not for me but for a young lady who I absolutely adore. It will definitely suit her more than it would suit me at this age.

    I hear you about the makeup. We often need a little change to update our looks given everything else in our lives. I’m fortunate that I have tons of makeup artist friends so I am always dabbling.

  3. Sue says:

    I am seeing someone about make-up next week, I must remember to go in with an open mind.

    Glad to hear all went well with your follow-up at the Doctor’s.

  4. vicki says:

    I have just recently bought new makeup. It is nice to have a change. As for LG – I love it, but I think more for the name than the style. We drink LG here as our choice of tea.

  5. Laura Lee says:

    Ann,
    Rock on! Your advice applies to nearly every aspect of anyone’s life!!! Thanks thanks thanks!

  6. Alethia says:

    Great post. There are so many women who are still living in the 80′s, wearing the same make-up and hair styles. I love going to make-up counter. That reminds me the last the had a profesional make-up was 3-years ago. It is time for a visit

  7. NuJoi says:

    I’m trying to push myself a little more too. I also have eye shadows I’ve never tried before. I’m also buying more prints. I think my pattern choices are more about the style’s I’ve wanted to wear all along, but I couldn’t find garments that fit. Congrats on the new you!

  8. summersetbanks says:

    You’re exactly on point, Ann! It is an ongoing challenge, to embrace yourself as you are in the moment and to celebrate yourself and the life you have. Now, I need to get to make-up counter, stat!

  9. Linda L says:

    I went about four years ago to have a make over. My husband kept making negative comments about my makeup. I couldn’t understand why he was making the comments, I had been wearing this makeup for five or 6 years. Well, after the make over I knew why he was making the comments. It does require keeping an open mind. It is probably good to go every 3 years or so, just to test the waters.

    I like the new blog.

  10. ClaireOKC says:

    I AM the Auntie Mame of my family – having no kids, I’m Auntie Mame to everyone! And they all know Mame is sometimes a little off plumb!!! And a little Mame is good for everyone. I reconnected with an old aunt myself a couple of years ago, and turns out that Auntie Mame has her own Auntie Mame!

    Love the idea of doing the makeup artist….I’ll have to do the same thing.

    So paraphrased a little: SEW! SEW! SEW!!!!

  11. ChristineB says:

    Wonderful suggestions! I spent the day yesterday all by myself at the Natick Mall (er….Natick “Collection”) browsing at Nordstroms, Neiman Marcus and all the high-end shops, trying on clothes (well, at least what I could find in size 12, anyway!). Got tons of ideas for sewing – can’t wait to get working on a zillion different projects.

    I’m not a makeup person, but perhaps I will give that a try next. :-)

  12. Lisette says:

    This summer I went to a makeup artist looking for the perfect coral lipstick, I came out with a color that I would never would have picked but looks great on me! An open mind is a wonderful thing.

  13. JustGail says:

    I’m guilty of the stuck-in-a-rut routine (hair, makeup, and wardrobe), using the “I work in a lab and not many people see me” excuse. I’ve seen in so many make-over articles about not only changing colors as you age (to softer versions), but alsow how it’s applied and the finish (matte vs. shiney). I am due for a hair cut soon – it’s about long enough to get it chopped off and donated. I hope I can get another donation in before it gets too gray. As far as wardrobe, I’m staying in jeans, but I *really* need to get to making some new tops & jackets!

  14. kathleen says:

    That reminds me that I need a makeup makeover too. My daughter and I should go and have a little fun. Change is good :)

Comments are closed.