"Not Suitable for Obvious Diagonals"

Did you hear that it was -12 degF in Boston yesterday? We Bostonians are a quirky bunch. We line up for ice cream at the local shop in the middle of the winter, and when the temperature hits its nadir, I sew clothes for the warmer months. So, I have this wild print with which I am making a halter top for spring. The pattern is a bias-cut, sleeveless, cowl-necked top. It can be extended into a dress as well. It’s intended for wear under a jacket. But according to the pattern envelope, it is not intended for obvious diagonals.

Now, those words, “not suitable for obvious diagonals” have always been a bit of a challenge to me. It’s like saying “no Irish need apply” (yes, I’m of Irish descent). So of course, I have to make it out of a print that has diagonal tendencies. When you’re dealing with a bias cut, I would think that diagonal prints can be pretty interesting. Suddenly they become vertical, or horizontal. So why not have at them?

Here’s what I mean. The print, when laid out on the cutting table, was a Pucci-type wavy zigzag. Cut on the bias, it becomes (I hope) much more figure flattering vertical lines:

It’s nowhere near complete. I have to add the lower part of the top, insert the zipper and attach the rest of the cowl neck, but I think you can get the idea. I don’t slavishly follow pattern directions. If a fabric and print look like they will work, diagonals be hanged. There’s the lovely thing about sewing. You have control, and you can have lots of fun once you unleash your creativity and pair it with that control.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Patterns, Vogue. Bookmark the permalink.